Currency & banks in Georgia

Currency of Georgia

The Lari (Georgian: ლარი; international designation GEL) is the currency of Georgia. It is divided into 100 tetri. The name lari is an old Georgian word denoting a hoard, property, while tetri is an old Georgian monetary term (meaning 'white') used in ancient Colchis from the 6th century BC. Earlier Georgian currencies include the maneti and abazi. Coins are issued in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 tetri, as well as 1 and 2 lari and banknotes of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 lari.


Banks and exchange of currency

Banks are generally open on weekdays from 9.00-9.30 to 17.30-19.00.You can easily exchange USD, EUR, other currencies have less usage. Currency exchange is available at banks and specialized exchange offices located almost everywhere.


To learn more about the exchange rate of lari for this moment, please follow the link: